If you have been injured on the job and your claim has been accepted by the insurance carrier, then you are entitled to receive a weekly check when your doctor has written you out of work due to your injury or given you work restrictions that your employer cannot accommodate. Pursuant to N.C. § 97-29, when an employee qualifies for total disability, the employer shall pay the injured employee a weekly compensation equal to sixty-six and two-thirds (66 2/3%) percent of his average weekly wage. This means you will receive a weekly compensation check until your doctor writes you back to work or your employer can accommodate your restrictions. This temporary total disability benefits check will not be taxed and your health insurance will not be taken out of this check. You will, therefore, need to make arrangements to pay your health insurance with your employer.  In the event that you owe child support and there is an order of garnishment, the weekly obligation will be taken from your disability check. 

When will I start receiving this weekly check?

There is a 7 day waiting period to qualify for workers’ compensation benefits. Pursuant to N.C. § 97-28, no compensation shall be allowed in the first seven calendar days of disability resulting from an injury. On the 8th calendar day you will qualify to receive the weekly compensation check and, in most cases, it will be paid to you the following week, just like a paycheck. If you are written out of work for more than 21 days then you will qualify to receive payment for the 7 day waiting period.

At Campbell & Associates, we realize that your bills do not stop piling up just because you get hurt on the job. We understand how important it is that our clients understand how and when disability benefits will be paid so that they can continue to pay their bills after their injury. If you or a loved one was injured on the job, call us today at 704-333-0885. Our experienced Workers’ Compensation attorneys are here to help you get life back on track. With convenient office locations in Charlotte, Hickory, Gastonia, Monroe and Rock Hill you’re just a short distance away from the help you deserve.

Call Today
704-333-0885

Workers’ Compensation Attorneys

We help people fight against insurance companies, big businesses and private entities.

If you have suffered a work injury, it’s very important to immediately report your injury to your employer. In most cases, your employer will give you information on how to get treatment and get your work comp claim started. However, if your employer will not give you the care you are entitled to, you should immediately seek legal assistance. At Campbell & Associates, our workers’ compensation lawyers have experience in all types of work comp claims with a variety of work injuries. Our experienced attorneys are eager to help you with your work comp injury claims.

Workers’ Comp Insurance

There are many laws that require your employer, or their insurance company to compensate you or your family for catastrophic injuries or wrongful death occurring while you are working.

Why You Need An Attorney

It can often be overwhelming to find the appropriate forms and follow the strict procedures involved in a Workers’ Compensation claim. It’s important to know that state laws maintain that all claims must be filed within two years of the injury, in both North Carolina and South Carolina.

If you have been a victim of a work-related accident you may be entitled to:
  • Weekly Benefits
  • Medical Expense Payments
  • Lump Sum Payment
Some of the injuries that can often fall into the workers’ compensation classification:
  • Back Injuries
  • Neck Injuries
  • Spinal Cord Injuries
  • Loss of Limbs
  • Broken Bones
  • Concussions (Traumatic Brain Injuries)
  • Internal Organ Injuries

FREE AND CONFIDENTIAL CASE REVIEW

We Fight For Justice For Our Clients

We want to hear your story, so we can help.

If you have been injured on the job and your claim has been accepted by the insurance carrier, then you are entitled to receive a weekly check when your doctor has written you out of work due to your injury or given you work restrictions that your employer cannot accommodate. Pursuant to N.C. § 97-29, when an employee qualifies for total disability, the employer shall pay the injured employee a weekly compensation equal to sixty-six and two-thirds (66 2/3%) percent of his average weekly wage. This means you will receive a weekly compensation check until your doctor writes you back to work or your employer can accommodate your restrictions. This temporary total disability benefits check will not be taxed and your health insurance will not be taken out of this check. You will, therefore, need to make arrangements to pay your health insurance with your employer.  In the event that you owe child support and there is an order of garnishment, the weekly obligation will be taken from your disability check. 

When will I start receiving this weekly check?

There is a 7 day waiting period to qualify for workers’ compensation benefits. Pursuant to N.C. § 97-28, no compensation shall be allowed in the first seven calendar days of disability resulting from an injury. On the 8th calendar day you will qualify to receive the weekly compensation check and, in most cases, it will be paid to you the following week, just like a paycheck. If you are written out of work for more than 21 days then you will qualify to receive payment for the 7 day waiting period.

At Campbell & Associates, we realize that your bills do not stop piling up just because you get hurt on the job. We understand how important it is that our clients understand how and when disability benefits will be paid so that they can continue to pay their bills after their injury. If you or a loved one was injured on the job, call us today at 704-333-0885. Our experienced Workers’ Compensation attorneys are here to help you get life back on track. With convenient office locations in Charlotte, Hickory, Gastonia, Monroe and Rock Hill you’re just a short distance away from the help you deserve.

Call Today
704-333-0885